Skip to Content
200 North Main St | Bloomington, Illinois | 309-827-0428
/ Events
Online + In Person
History Reads Book Club

Seasons on Henry's Farm: A Year of Food and Life on a Sustainable Farm

All avid readers are welcome to join the Museum and Bloomington Public Library on Tuesday, August 2 at 7:00 p.m. for the third installment of the History Reads Book Club for 2022. 

This hybrid discussion will be held in the Governor Fifer Courtroom at the McLean County Museum of History and online via Zoom to discuss Seasons on Henry’s Farm: A Year of Food and Life on a Sustainable Farm by Terra Brockman. 

Visit bit.ly/bplhistoryvirtual822 to register for the online discussion or bit.ly/bplhistoryinperson822 to participate in person.

Henry’s Farm, run by Henry Brockman, is in central Illinois — some of the richest farming land in the world. There, he and his family — five generations of farmers, including sister Terra, the author — have bucked the traditional agribusiness conventional wisdom by farming in a way that produces healthy, nutritious food for local people in ways that enhance soil, water, air, and all living things in and around the farm. Terra Brockman tells the story of her family and their life on the farm in the form of a year-long memoir (with recipes) that takes readers through each season of life on the farm. Studded with vignettes, digressions, photographs, family stories, and illustrations of the farm’s vivid plant life, the book is a one-of-a-kind treasure that will appeal to readers of Michael Pollan, E. B. White, Gretel Ehrlich, and Sandra Steingraber.

To request a copy of the book, please contact the Reference Desk at Bloomington Public library at 309-590-6168 or email reference@bloomingtonlibrary.org.

{ "name":"Seasons on Henry's Farm: A Year of Food and Life on a Sustainable Farm", "description":"

All avid readers are welcome to join the Museum and Bloomington Public Library on Tuesday, August 2 at 7:00 p.m. for the third installment of the History Reads Book Club for 2022. 

This hybrid discussion will be held in the Governor Fifer Courtroom at the McLean County Museum of History and online via Zoom to discuss Seasons on Henry’s Farm: A Year of Food and Life on a Sustainable Farm by Terra Brockman. 

Visit bit.ly/bplhistoryvirtual822 to register for the online discussion

", "startDate":"2022-08-02", "endDate":"2022-08-02", "startTime":"19:00", "endTime":"19:00", "location":"200 N Main St. Bloomington IL 61701", "label":"Add to Calendar", "options":[ "Google", "Apple", "iCal", "Outlook.com" ], "timeZone":"America/Chicago", "trigger":"click", "iCalFileName":"Reminder-Event" }